Band of Brothers

Band of Brothers by Stephen E. Ambrose. This book was amazing. I’ve never seen the miniseries, but the book was magnificent. It follows Easy Company, 506th Regiment, 101st Airborne Division, U.S. Army from training camp to the end of the war and beyond. I don’t really know what to say about this book. I can’t talk about characters because it’s about real people. I can’t talk about plot because Ambrose wrote it directly from interviews with the soldiers and letters and journals. I can say that Band of Brothers is the story of a group of heroes that is expertly crafted.

The thing about having never seen the tv version is that I had no clue, while reading the book, which soldiers survived the war. I could tell occasionally, when there would be direct quotes but it was an eyeopener. My favorite chapter, for some reason, was the “They’ve got us surrounded-the Poor Bastards”; Bastogne from December 19-31, 1944. In history, we spent three days of World War 2, but he talked about Bastogne.

Best map I could find. Germany is the orange, Allies are the light yellow. But Bastogne should also be light yellow, because the group followed in Band of Brothers was there and didn’t give in.

I also really liked in the end, once the troops got to the Eagle’s Nest, how they dealt with all Hitler’s stuff. He had some really nice cars, alcohol, etc, and once the higher-ups got there, the lowly soldiers had to turn the loot over. But that didn’t mean they couldn’t test the bullet resistance of the glass of the windshields first.

It’s strange, when I read this book, to remember that the people portrayed in it were born in the 1910s and 20s.

Anyways, I highly recommend¬† this book to anyone who likes history or just a good read. It’s quick, it’s 312 pages, and it’s so good.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nonfiction

Leave a Reply

