Wuthering Heights

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. The version I read had engravings by Fritz Eichenberg. Basically pictures. They were really creepy. One had a ghostly Catherine appearing at the narrator’s window late at night and scaring the bejeebas out of him. And me, since I read late at night and there’s a window right by my bed. It was published in 1943 (!) and in the front cover has a handwritten note reading:

‘Thos M. Fowler
Columbus, Ga
Nov 1943’

Really old book! Especially when I remember that it was written even earlier.

But that still doesn’t make me like it. I read it because it was on my shelf and I knew I’d have to read it at some point this year during school. It was long and dry. There is a narrator, but I don’t even remember his name. Maybe Carroway, but that might be a remnant left from The Great Gatsby. One moment, I shall Google it! … I lied, it’s Mr. Lockwood. See, really an important character and I didn’t even know his name.

But really, that’s a lie too because most of the story is told to the narrator by the housekeeper, Emily, or Nelly as she’s known. Nelly’s retelling covers Heathcliff’s and Catherine’s history, love, and everything else. Except, they didn’t seem too much in love to me. They hated each other for most of the retelling, and whenever they seemed in love, Catherine would be ridiculous and ruin it. Which brings me to another point. What was wrong with people back then that so totally removed all human emotions and reactions? Heathcliff would do some really small meaningless things that Catherine didn’t like, and she’s throw herself around and go into fits. Come on, girl! Show some backbone. And then, other times, she does-too much. Her husband is the most easily walked over man in all of literature, because he supposedly actually loves Catherine?

And then, Catherine and Isabelle were each pregnant? and just randomly had children?! It never even mentioned the pregnancy, then, whoops, baby. Seems like an important detail.

My favorite character was Heathcliff, because he was constantly evil. Catherine wavered too much, she was just annoying. My copy was 212 pages, but most are more.

2 Comments

Filed under Classic

2 responses to “Wuthering Heights

  1. leila1rage

    Just a thought…but was heathcliff REALLY constantly evil? As a child he was mischievous but innocent. It was the hardships and cruelty he suffered that hardened him emotionally, and of course Catherine’s stupidity. And to some extent this cruelty was the result of his madness, both literal and metaphoric.

    • Good point. In fact, child-Heathcliff made me think I’d like the book more because he was so innocent. I guess I just mean that his actions all seemed to logically stem from one place (as an adult, mainly). ‘Consistently’ would be a better word. Catherine was very wishy-washy on her opinions of life, Heathcliff, her husband, etc.

Leave a Reply

