33 Snowfish

I did not like this book. I was at the library, burning time, and my friend was browsing, pulling out books and asking if I had read them. Most, I had. This one she pulled because ‘it looked interesting’ so I checked it out and read it.

On the back, there are rave reviews (none from newspapers or websites, just people), but I don’t think that 33 Snowfish is a ‘brutal poetic caw’ or that is ‘the future of young adult literature’.

I did finish the book, because it was short (179 pages) but the language, violence, racism, and graphic sexual themes didn’t improve my view of the plot. It follows Custis, Curl, and Boobie (and Boobie’s younger brother), with Custis as the main narrator, on a journey across the Midwest away from the police.

Happy ending? Sorta. Ug.

Leave a comment

Filed under Other

Leave a Reply

