Callaghen

Another Louis L’Amour book! 182 pages.

Callaghen

This one was interesting. I couldn’t find the cover of the version I read, probably because it came out in 1981. Anyway, Morty Callaghen is a private in the American Army. Which is interesting, because he’s had much higher positions before in various other armies the world over. But, now that he’s in the American army, he can’t get past private because he keeps getting busted for fighting. Even though he’s a good soldier, he’s Irish, and certain of his COs don’t like that very much.

It’s always cool when what we discuss in school comes up in books and I can go, ‘I know that!’.  So: prejudice against Irishmen.

It’s been a few weeks since I read this and I don’t really remember details. I enjoyed Callaghen because he was capable and useful and effective. The girl, Medina?, was extremely…random. Diplomat’s daughter from SE Asia that Callaghen happens to already know? Okay then? I do like the soldier, forget who, that eventually gives him his papers. I wonder what he’ll do with his life?

As with all Louis L’Amour books, that’s how it is.

Leave a comment

Filed under Western

Leave a Reply

