Going Postal

Have I really only read 6 books since February 20th? Well, no, this one I just finished. And Stephanie took Shalako while I was half done. And I’m not putting those two on here…hmmm. I need to read more.

Going Postal by Terry Pratchett. One of my all time favorite authors. This one follows Moist von Lipwig as he, with the help of Lord Vetinari, becomes Ankh-Morpork’s Postmaster General.

I could have sworn I had a different picture open on the computer, but when I went to grab it, it had changed to the red one. So confused.

I love this book! I read it before, a while back, but I bought it yesterday, and didn’t feel like reading Callaghen (my next Louis L’Amour book). It’s a tremendous comedy, but still makes really good points about life. I’m butchering the explanation of it, I always do with these books. Read it. It’s great.

My favorite part is near the beginning. Though Moist isn’t very happy with his new job or the people he has to work with, he spends time to go learn about pins for Stanley. He even spends a good bit of money-just to be able to talk to him. Now, maybe he just wants Stanley on his side, but still. He did something nice completely of his own volition. And then, he goes and asks someone about golems, because he doesn’t want to be acting wrong. It’s very conscientious of him.  Mr. Pump is my favorite character because he has such a personality without actually having a personality. Plus, who can’t love someone who speaks in capital letters. (Not like Death, Just Like This.) Least favorite…Adora Belle Dearheart and the newspaper chick aren’t great. The former smokes too much and the later is annoying with her constant pestering for a statement.

Something I love about Terry Pratchett books is how he puts in bits of other people’s lives. Yes, the book was about Moist and Adora Belle Dearheart (I tried, I really tried to only write her first name. It didn’t work.) and the post office, but the reader also gets a minute glance into the lives of the clacks workers at Tower 181 or into the life of the Igor employed by Gilt. Surely, that much indepthness was not needed to convey those parts of the story, but the reader is left with a sense of a bigger story. There is always a world full of minor characters.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy

Leave a Reply

